Adam Rippon, making music

That Adam Rippon. What a card. He heats up the ice when he skates with his patience and confidence and his glorious moves. He’s become an amusing lad. One never knows what he will do. Not that he isn’t serious about his work. He is. And just for fun, we saw him cross off another item on his bucket list when he sang a cover song, “Diamonds” at the NHK exhibitions in November.

So here, if you are looking for more good material for your current state of mind, Adam, why don’t you try a new cover to Leonard Cohen’s “First we take Manhattan.” and notice the birds at the beginning of the video. It’s as if the iconic songster had created the piece with Adam Rippon and his Arrival of the Birds routine in mind. This song strikes me as Rippon’s mindset going into the U.S. championships next week.

 

They sentenced me to four months of recovery

From breaking my foot one day last year

I’m coming now, I’m coming for the reward now

First we take San Jose, then we take Pyeongchang

I’m guided by a signal from the referee

I’m guided to pick those bees up off the ice

I’m guided by the beauty of my weapons

First we take San Jose, then we take Pyeongchang.

I’d really like to land that quad Lutz, baby,

Last time I tried it, I had to shove my shoulder right back in.

That quad toe just won’t do; my foot won’t take it

I told you, I told you, told you, I don’t need butt pads, see?

Ah you loved me as a loser, but now you’re worried that I just might win

You know the way to stop me, but you don’t have the discipline

How many nights I prayed for this, to let my work begin,

First we take San Jose, then we take Pyeongchang.

I’ve earned my big a** through hard work, mister.

I’m just rockin’ it with pride to the end.

I always knew I would be a trendsetter

First we take San Jose, then we take Pyeongchang.

I’d really like to land that quad Lutz baby,

Last time I tried it, I had to shove the shoulder right back in,

Nothing can stop me, no matter what you do,

I told you, I told you, I told you, I’m not a hot mess, ever.

No I don’t do that Rippon Lutz right now because

That shoulder thing could kick up then,

If I really want to see one now, I’ll just watch

Any junior ladies event in Russia; they all do ‘em

Ah remember me, I’ve got this secret weapon.

Remember me, I’m going for my coronation,

Remember, ice is slippery, all of you should be careful,

First we take San Jose, then we take Pyeongchang.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Adam Rippon, making music

Leave a comment